Profile of a Hummingbird | Ecuador

I’ve been lucky enough to travel to Ecuador again 🙂 Ecuador has an amazing variety – about 135 different species – of hummingbirds. Their amazing agility and speed make them spectacular to witness (and very hard to photograph!). I’d like to come back at some point solely to photograph and learn more about these amazing birds.

This little hummer let me get quite close, which is quite unusual as they’re generally very skittish. I’m quite happy with the detail I was able to capture around the eye, but unfortunately there were some leaves in the foreground I couldn’t get around which resulted in fewer details in its chest feathers.

Comments and criticisms always welcomed 🙂

Profile of a Hummingbird

Chestnut-breasted Coronet, taken at about 2700m/8850ft above sea level

2 thoughts on “Profile of a Hummingbird | Ecuador

Leave a comment